clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Duke’s Basketball Banquet Was Also A Farewell

As Coach K gracefully steps aside

Duke Men’s Basketball Banquet
DURHAM, NC - APRIL 14: Head coach Jon Scheyer of the Duke Blue Devils speaks during the Duke Men’s Basketball Banquet at Cameron Indoor Stadium on April 14, 2022 in Durham, North Carolina.
Photo by Lance King/Getty Images

Duke held its annual basketball banquet Thursday night but it was a bit different than it has been for, well, decades: it was Coach K’s final banquet and the last official day of his iconic Duke career.

Coach K gave his final banquet speech and talked about where the program was last year with Covid and where it is after this season.

He talked about how he and his staff decided not to work the transfer portal and why they felt it was important to commit to the guys they had. We linked the speech too so make sure to check it out.

Jon Scheyer spoke too, obviously, and surprised Coach K and Mickie with a gorgeous puppy.

The banquet was the final act in Mike Krzyzewski’s brilliant career. Thursday we noticed that the coach’s page on had not been updated.

Now it has.

Here’s a list of the awards given out. Our favorite is always the Dr. Deryl Hart Award. It was won by Michael Savarino.

  • Swett-Baylin Award (Most Valuable Player): Paolo Banchero, Wendell Moore Jr., Mark Williams
  • Dr. Deryl Hart Award (Top Scholar-Athlete): Michael Savarino
  • Pagliuca Family Coach’s Award (Commitment and Values): AJ Griffin, Trevor Keels, Jeremy Roach
  • Glenn E. “Ted” Mann Award (Contribution to Team Morale): Theo John
  • Iron Duke Award (Most Minutes Played): Wendell Moore Jr.
  • Bill Krzyzewski Captains’ Award: Joey Baker, Wendell Moore Jr.
  • Best Field Goal Percentage: Mark Williams
  • Best Free Throw Percentage: Wendell Moore Jr.
  • Best Rebound Average: Paolo Banchero
  • Most Assists Award: Wendell Moore Jr.
  • Best Defensive Player: Mark Williams
  • Gopal Varadhan Senior Manager Award: Grayson Sherr, Kai Shimojo, Christopher Simmons
  • Harry Rainey Spirit Award: Kennedy Sun
  • Charles Hogan Memorial Band Award: Lucas Lynn