clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

ACC Players Of The Year By School

Not surprisingly, Duke and UNC dominate this stat

North Carolina v Duke
 DURHAM, NORTH CAROLINA - MARCH 07: Tre Jones #3 of the Duke Blue Devils battles Christian Keeling #55 and Cole Anthony #2 of the North Carolina Tar Heels for a loose ball during the first half of their game at Cameron Indoor Stadium on March 07, 2020 in Durham, North Carolina.
Photo by Grant Halverson/Getty Images

Correction - we entered the wrong chart with this article. It’s been updated.

In case you’re tempted to accept that the so-called experts have the ACC pegged, keep in mind Moses Wright, the 2021 conference player of the year, wasn’t even selected for the preseason ACC first or second teams.

More surprising, given the parade of talent that’s gone through Atlanta, Wright was only the second Yellow Jacket ever voted the league’s premier player.

That’s in 42 seasons of ACC membership.

The only previous Georgia Tech player so honored was Dennis Scott in 1990. Scott was the ACC scoring leader at 27.7 points per game as Tech reached the Final Four for the first time. (The Jackets also reached the 2004 championship game.) Feasting on 3-pointers, Scott’s average remains the highest in the league since David Thompson notched 29.9 in 1975.

Six ACC programs, most 21st century additions, have failed to produce a POY. But that roster includes Florida State, which joined in 1991-92 and has boasted plenty of talent, with six NBA first-rounders in the past decade alone.

Duke and Carolina meanwhile had nearly half of those ever selected as ACC players of the year (33 of 68, with several repeat winners). The highly celebrated, highly successful rivals produced nearly two-thirds of the POYs in this century (13 of 21).

Since Christian Laettner 30 seasons ago, the Blue Devils hatched a dozen POYs, 40 percent. They also had two of the 11 repeat POYs in ACC history – the largely forgotten Danny Ferry (1988, 1989) and JJ Redick (2005, 2006). UNC had Larry Miller (1967, 1868).

The other Carolina, South, had a repeat POY in John Roche in 1969 and 1970, just before leaving the conference. Some argue Roche deserved the award in 1971 as well when it went to Charlie Davis, the first Black player so honored in the ACC.

Maryland, the other leaver, repeated with the great Len Bias in 1984 and 1985.

Two players were chosen POY in three straight seasons – David Thompson at NC State (1973-75) and Ralph Sampson from 1981-83.

Wake Forest has had more players of the year selected multiple times than anyone else: three in Dickie Hemric (1954, 1955), Len Chappell (1961, 1962), and Tim Duncan (1996, 1997).

ACC Players of the Year By School
(Multiple Selections Counted By Each Year Chosen)
School POYs Most Recent POY Finish Joined ACC
Boston College 1 Jared Dudley 2007 3rd, tie 2007
Clemson 1 Horace Grant 1987 2nd 1954
Duke 18 Tre Jones 2020 2nd tie 1954
Florida State 0 -- -- -- 1992
Georgia Tech 2 Moses Wright 2021 4th 2021
Louisville 0 -- -- -- 2015
Miami 0 -- -- -- 2005
North Carolina 15 Justin Jackson 2017 first 1954
NC State 8 TJ Warren 2014 7th tie 1954
Notre Dame 0 -- -- -- 2014
Pittsburgh 0 -- -- -- 2014
Syracuse 0 -- -- -- 2014
Virginia 5 Malcolm Brogdon 2016 2nd tie 1954*
Virginia Tech 1 Erick Green 2013 12th 2005
Wake Forest 10 Josh Howard 2003 first 1954
Maryland 5 Greivis Vasquez 2010 first tie 1954 (2014)
South Carolina 2 John Roche 1970 first 1954 (1971)
* Began playing in ACC in December 1954.