clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Keys To The Kingdom

Current ACC coaches who have won ACC Tournaments

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

North Carolina v Duke
DURHAM, NC - MARCH 03: (L-R) Head coach Mike Krzyzewski of the Duke Blue Devils talks to head coach Roy Williams of the North Carolina Tar Heels before their game at Cameron Indoor Stadium on March 3, 2018 in Durham, North Carolina.
Photo by Streeter Lecka/Getty Images

When the ACC convened in Brooklyn this week, six coaches carried a key, validating credential, and it wasn’t on a lanyard. Each had at least one ACC Tournament championship to his credit.

Mike Krzyzewski, with his 14th title last season, has twice as many ACC Tournament triumphs as the other five active championship coaches combined.

Not to mention the other nine active coaches who’ve never made it to the final, let alone won a title.

Or, the post-2005 expansion programs that have yet to reach a championship game – Louisville, Pittsburgh, Syracuse and Virginia Tech. Of that group, the Hokies have been in the conference the longest, dating back to the ‘05 season.

This year saw both Syracuse and Louisville get their inaugural ACC Tournament wins, the Cardinals their first in one try under interim head coach Dave Padgett.

Two recent expansion members, Miami and Notre Dame, have won titles, in 2013 and 2015, respectively.

Boston College immediately advanced to the championship contest upon entering the conference in 2006, losing to Duke. Al Skinner’s Eagles, a transplanted Big East power, were led by Craig Smith, Louis Hinnant and Jared Dudley, the ACC Player of the Year the following season.

The newcomers that remain shut out are joined by Clemson, an original member which returned to the final in 2008 for the second time ever. (The Tigers’ other appearance came in 1962 when Press Maravich’s squad had a losing overall record.) The ’08 Clemson squad, coached by Oliver Purnell, depended most upon big man Trevor Booker and guards K.C. Rivers and Demontez Stitt.

They lost to North Carolina in the title game. That was one of 15 Tiger defeats in 16 ACC Tournament tries against the Tar Heels.

Active Coaches Who Won ACC Tournament
Name, School Titles Title Trips Most Recent
Mike Krzyzewski, D 14 20 (14-6) 2017
Roy Williams, NC 3 7 (3-4) 2016
Tony Bennett, V 1 2 (1-1) 2016
Mike Brey, ND 1 2 (1-1) 2017
Leonard Hamilton, FSU 1 2 (1-1_ 2012
Jim Larranaga, Miami 1 1 (1-0) 2013

If you're going to shop Amazon, please start here and help DBR and while you're there check out Barry’s book Across The Line
Check out our October '17 t-shirt! | Drop us a line