clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

How Kentucky Processed The Duke Game

It’s a classic formula...

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

State Farm Champions Classic
INDIANAPOLIS, IN - NOVEMBER 06: Ashton Hagan #2 of the Kentucky Wildcats shoot the ball while defended by Zion Williamson #1 of the Duke Blue Devils during the State Farm Champions Classic at Bankers Life Fieldhouse on November 6, 2018 in Indianapolis, Indiana.
Photo by Andy Lyons/Getty Images

Duke fans have been on Cloud 9 since the big win over Kentucky Tuesday, but for the UK camp, it’s been more like a death in the family.

So quick review! What are the seven stages of grief?

  1. Shock and disbelief
  2. Denial
  3. Pain
  4. Anger
  5. Bargaining
  6. Depression
  7. Acceptance/Hope

BBN has checked all these boxes this week. Shock and disbelief was pretty obvious.

  1. Denial was at halftime.
  2. Pain was throughout.
  3. Anger showed up in fights in the concourse, reportedly leading to a suspension of beer sales.
  4. Bargaining? Please let us just get the score under 20.
  5. Depression: we couldn’t get it under 20. Laettner! Twenty-six years later! Yeah, that would be depressing too.
  6. Acceptance/Hope: Did we get arrogant? And this...”We have time...This hasn’t happened very often, but when it does it needs to happen. Needs to happen for all of us. Me included now.”

If you're going to shop Amazon please start here and help DBR
| Drop us a line