clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

UNC’s Dynamic Duo

Luke Maye and Justin Berry are continuing an admirable tradition in Chapel Hill.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Bucknell v North Carolina
CHAPEL HILL, NC - NOVEMBER 15: Zach Thomas #23 of the Bucknell Bison loses the ball as he drives against Luke Maye #32 and Joel Berry II #2 of the North Carolina Tar Heels during their game at the Dean Smith Center on November 15, 2017 in Chapel Hill, North Carolina.
Photo by Grant Halverson/Getty Images

Hard to believe, but this is only the tenth season in the 65 years of the Atlantic Coast Conference that North Carolina boasts a pair of players averaging at least 17 points per game. This is the first time under Roy Williams.

The Tar Heels have paced the ACC in scoring 19 times, seven under Williams. That total is second only to Duke, which led the ACC in scoring offense in 23 seasons, 11 since 1997.

Half of UNC’s 17-point duos played in consecutive seasons from 1965 through 1969. Larry Miller and Bob Lewis each averaged at least 17 in their three varsity seasons.

The Blue Devils had at least two 17-point scorers nearly twice as often as the Heels, doing it 19 different times.

In 1978 a trio of Duke players averaged 17-plus across the course of an entire season: Jim Spanarkel (20.8) -- the most deserving Blue Devil whose jersey numeral is not retired, Mike Gminski (20.0) and Gene Banks (17.1). The ’02 squad duplicated the feat with Jason Williams (21.3), Carlos Boozer (18.2) and Mike Dunleavy (17.3).

The last time Duke had a pair of 17-point producers were 2016. This year only Marvin Bagley III exceeds that mark.

Seasons in Which North Carolina Had Two
Players Average at Least 17 Points (Through Games on January 13, 2018)
Year Players (Scoring Averages)
2018 Luke Maye (18.2), Joel Berry II (17.4)
1984 Michael Jordan (19.6), Sam Perkins (17.6)
1976 Phil Ford (18.6), Mitch Kupchak (17.6)
1972 Robert McAdoo (19.5), Dennis Wuycik (18.0)
1969 Charles Scott (22.3), Bill Bunting (18.0)
1968 Larry Miller (22.4), Charles Scott (17.6)
1967 Larry Miller (21.9), Bob Lewis (18.5)
1966 Bob Lewis (27.4), Larry Miller (20.9)
1965 Billy Cunningham (25.4), Bob Lewis (21.0)
1961 York Larese (23.1), Doug Moe (20.4)
If you're going to shop Amazon, please start here and help DBR and while you're there check out Barry’s book Across The Line
Check out our October '17 t-shirt! | Drop us a line