clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Poor POY Picks

It’s not easy to figure out who’s going to have the best year

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

NCAA Basketball: Duke at Boston College
Jan 2, 2016; Chestnut Hill, MA, USA; Duke Blue Devils guard Grayson Allen (3) dribbles the ball up the court against the Boston College Eagles during the 2nd half of the game at Silvio O. Conte Forum. Duke won 81-64. 
Gregory Fisher-USA TODAY Sports

Grayson Allen was a solid choice in the 2017 preseason for ACC player of the year, just as either North Carolina’s Joel Berry II and Notre Dame’s Bonzie Colson II make sense for that minor honor in 2018. (The ACC doesn’t even list the preseason picks in its media guide.)

Of course Allen had a trouble-plagued junior year. He didn’t build on his first team All-ACC performance as a sophomore, or live up to his ‘17 preseason billing as the best the conference had to offer.

As it turns out, in failing to follow through on his preseason selection as ACC player of the year, Allen was hardly setting a precedent.

Since 2000, only four preseason choices as the ACC’s best finished as the player of the year: Duke’s cerebral forward Shane Battier in 2001, when he shared the honor with North Carolina’s forgettable Joseph Forte; Duke’s sharpshooting guard J.J. Redick in 2006, winner in 2005 as well and the most recent of the league’s 10 repeat players of the year; Carolina’s relentless forward Tyler Hansbrough in 2008; and heady Virginia guard Malcolm Brogdon in 2016. Brogdon, a second-round draftee, was the 2017 NBA rookie of the year.

Hansbrough was the preseason pick three straight years but won a single time. Duke’s Kyle Singler and UNC’s Marcus Paige were predicted twice each to finish as the ACC player of the year and never fulfilled that promise.

How ACC Preseason Players of the Year Fared in Voting for POY at Season’s End,
Since 2000 Season
Year Preseason Choice Actual Player of Year All-ACC Selection,
Preseason Choice
2017 Grayson Allen, D Justin Jackson, NC None
2016 Malcolm Brogdon, V Malcolm Brogdon, V First team
Marcus Paige, NC None
2015 Marcus Paige, NC Jahlil Okafor, D Third team
2014 C.J. Fair, SU T.J. Warren, NCS First team
2013 C.J. Leslie, NCS Erick Green, VT (media) Third team
Shane Larkin, UM (coaches) N/A
2012 Harrison Barnes, NC Tyler Zeller, NC First team
2011 Kyle Singler, D Nolan Smith, D First team
2010 Kyle Singler, D Greivis Vasquez, M First team
2009 Tyler Hansbrough, NC Ty Lawson, NC First team
2008 Tyler Hansbrough, NC Tyler Hansbrough, NC First team
2007 Tyler Hansbrough, NC Jared Dudley, BC First team
2006 J.J. Redick, D J.J. Redick, D First team
2005 Chris Paul, WF J.J. Redick, D First team
2004 Raymond Felton, NC Julius Hodge, NCS Third team
2003 Chris Duhon, D Josh Howard, WF Third team
2002 Jason Williams, D Juan Dixon, M First team
2001 Shane Battier, D Shane Battier, D First team
Joseph Forte, NC. N/A
2000 Terence Morris, M Chris Carrawell, D Second team

If you're going to shop Amazon for iPhone X or accessories please start here and help DBR
Check out our October '17 t-shirt! || Drop us a line