clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

High Schools Which Have Sent Multiple Players In The ACC

DeMatha, Oak Hill and Hargrave dominate.

Quinn Cook and Jerian Grant are both DeMatha products.
Quinn Cook and Jerian Grant are both DeMatha products.
Rob Kinnan-USA TODAY Sports

When Notre Dame played at Cameron Indoor Stadium last weekend, its first visit as an ACC member, the game might have been mistaken for a Stag party.

DeMatha High, a Catholic school in Hyattsville, Maryland, long produced exceptional basketball players under the tutelage of Morgan Wootten, its Hall of Fame head coach. Wootten, who was born at Duke Hospital on April 21, 1931, retired following the 2002 season with a 1,274-192 record directing the Stags.

Over the years the ACC enjoyed the services of many of his stars. A brief list of the standouts includes Duke's Danny Ferry, Maryland's Adrian Branch and Jerrod Mustaf, UNC's Joseph Forte, and N.C. State's Kenny Carr, Sidney Lowe, Hawkeye Whitney and Dereck Whittenburg.

Ferry, Forte, Carr, Lowe and Whitney made first team All-ACC; the others, except Mustaf, made second team. Ferry was a two-time ACC player of the year (1988, 1989).

These days DeMatha's competitive reputation endures under coach Mike Jones, as does its facility for supplying the ACC with players. There are four DeMatha grads competing in the ACC, not counting Irish coach Mike Brey, a former Stag who went on to assist both Wootten and Mike Krzyzewski.

The D.C.-area school is one of four that are unusually prolific in providing ACC players, particularly in 2014-15. Virginia's Oak Hill Academy is represented by five alums. Brewster Academy in New Hampshire yielded four. Quinn Cook is listed below for both DeMatha and Oak Hill, to which he transferred for a year before matriculating at Duke.

Then there's Hargrave Military Academy in Virginia, which supplied eight current members of ACC rosters.


Schools That Produced Most Current ACC Players


  • BeeJay Anya, NCS
  • Quinn Cook, D
  • Jerian Grant, ND
  • James Robinson, PU
  • Mike Brey, ND, head coach

Brewster Academy

  • Durand Johnson, PU*
  • Chris McCullough, SU*
  • Aaron Thomas, FSU$
  • Kyle Washington, NCS

Hargrave Military Academy

  • Anton Gill, UL
  • Donte Grantham, C
  • Montrezl Harrell, UL
  • Corey Heyward, GT
  • Greg McClinton, WF
  • Codi Miller-McIntyre, WF
  • Terry Rozier, UL
  • Andre Washington, WF

Oak Hill Academy

  • Quinn Cook, D
  • Lennard Freeman, NCS
  • Caleb Martin, NCS
  • Cody Martin, NCS
  • B.J. Stith, V

* Sidelined for season

$ Left school mid-year, went pro