clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big Ten Resets Divisions

The Big Ten has new divisions: dumping the stupid Legends and Leaders monikors for a more basic East and West, the league now will put Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, Penn State and Rutgers in the East and Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern, Purdue and Wisconsin. They'll also go to a nine-game schedule.

For Maryland, it's a pretty tough group. Moving up won't be easy. We could see them being competitive with Rutgers and Penn State temporarily, and perhaps Indiana. But a bad Big Ten football team is still better than a good Maryland football team.

Division travel times for the Terps, rounded, by land:

  • Bloomington: 10 hours
  • Ann Arbor: 8 hours
  • East Lansing: 9 hours
  • Columbus: 6 hours
  • State College: 3 1/2 hours
  • New Brunswick: 3 hours