clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

A Visual Look At The Sweet Sixteen

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

When we started to think about it, we realized that the Sweet Sixteen was really concentrated in the Midwest and also around the Great Lakes.

Six schools are located in Kentucky, Indiana and Ohio. Four are located on or near a Great Lake, with Syracuse being the most easterly.

No one is further west than Waco, Texas. Only four schools are from East Coast states, with Florida, UNC, NC State and Syracuse representing.

Only two schools - Baylor and Kansas - are west of the Mississippi, and though the Big East had four teams, only Syracuse is from the East.

Major population centers like New Jersey, Pennsylvania, the Northeast Corridor, the DMV region are not represented. The entire West coast and Rocky Mountain region missed.

View Sweet Sixteen in a larger map

The Duke Basketball Blue Book
DBR Auctions!
New T-Shirts!
DBR Is On Twitter!(DBRTweetz)