clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Barry Jacobs On Expansion Success

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

The recent flurry of additions to the ACC will bring the number of members to 15 once Notre Dame comes aboard, supposedly no later than the 2014-15 academic year.

"Thanks a lot! The guide looks fantastic! I am really excited to dig in." Rick W
"Wow, huge piece of work! Congratulations. You guys never fail to provide the best a fan could ask for." Bill C.Get yours today!
Duke| State | UNC
DBR Auctions!
New T-Shirts!
DBR Is On Twitter!(DBRTweetz)

That sprawling membership is just shy of the unwieldy size reached by the Southern Conference prior to the original seven ACC schools - Clemson, Duke, Maryland, UNC, N.C. State, South Carolina, and Wake Forest -- deciding to split off in 1953. The founders' goal was to promote greater competitive and scholastic compatibility; now the league aspires to earn as much TV revenue and market share as possible without unduly compromising competitive and academic integrity.

Whatever unduly means.

First Basketball Seasons By ACC Expansion Teams
Year School ACC Titles
1954 Virginia 1, 1976
1980 Georgia Tech 3, 1985, 1990, 1993
1992 Florida State 1, 2012
2004 Miami Not yet
2004 Virginia Tech Not yet
2005 Boston College Not yet
2014 Pittsburgh Still ineligible
2014 Syracuse Still ineligible
2015 Notre Dame Still ineligible