clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Barry Jacobs On 30-Win Seasons In The ACC

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Another season, another 30-win effort by Duke. The Blue Devils were 32-5, in fact.

At this rate, before you know it Mike Krzyzewski will have 900 career victories.

What, he does already? Who knew?

The 2011 season was the 12th in which Duke won at least 30 games. All came under Krzyzewski, and all in the past 26 years (a period in which schedules have grown longer and longer). That's more or less one 30-win result every other year for a quarter-century.

That's also as many seasons with at least 30 wins as every other ACC program combined. Ever. Actually, only five of 12 current ACC members have managed a 30-win season.

Not surprisingly, all but one of the national championship squads produced by league schools belonged to the 30-win fraternity. The exception was N.C. State's 1983 Wolfpack, a six seed that finished 26-10.

Incidentally that year, like this one, the assumption was that one Final Four game was the heavyweight bout (top seeds Houston and Louisville then, power conference reps UConn and UK now) while the other was the charming undercard (N.C. State and Georgia then, Butler and VCU now). So much for assumptions. In 1983, anyway.

Thirty-Win Seasons By ACC Programs
School 30 Wins Seasons Won At Least 30 Games
Duke 12 1986, 1991*, 1992*, 1998, 1999, 2001*, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2009, 2010*, 2011
Maryland 1 2002*
No. Carolina 9 1957*, 1982*, 1987, 1993*, 1998, 2005*, 2007, 2008, 2009*
N.C. State 1 1974*
Virginia 1 1982
* Won NCAA title.
Current DBR Auction!
The DBR App!
The Next Step For DBR
DBR Is On Twitter!(DBRTweetz)
Discover the World's largest E-Book Store! Save big on bestsellers!