clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jacobs On Finals Appearances

Barry's latest chart breaks down teams appearances in the ACC Finals.


ACC Tournament Finals, By School Since 1954
Berths Titles School Most Recent Final
27 15 North Carolina 2001 v. Duke (L)
26 14 Duke 2004 v. Maryland (L)
16 10 N.C. State 2003 v. Duke (L)
10 4 Wake Forest 1996 v. Georgia Tech (W)
9 3 Maryland 2004 v. Duke (W)
6 1 Virginia 1994 v. UNC (L)
6 3 Georgia Tech 1996 v. Wake (L)
3 1 South Carolina 1971 v. UNC (W)
1 0 Clemson 1962 v. Wake (L)
0 0 Florida State Still waiting.
  • This is the first ACC Tournament in which Miami and Virginia Tech have participated. Florida State joined the league for the 1992 season, Georgia Tech for the 1980 season. South Carolina dropped out of the ACC after winning the 1971 title.
  • Maryland’s ACC title in 2004 was the first for a team coached by a former ACC player since Georgia Tech’s Bobby Cremins in 1993. Gary Williams played at Maryland and is the current coach. Cremins played at South Carolina when it was an ACC member. Maryland’s Williams and North Carolina’s Roy Williams are the only alums currently coaching at their alma maters.
  • Last season saw the end of Duke’s run of five straight ACC Tournament titles, the longest skein of consecutive championships in conference history. Three in a row was the previous record until the Blue Devils won from 1999 through 2003.
  • Duke’s 17 straight ACC Tournament wins from 1999 through 2004 is a record.
  • Mike Krzyzewski’s 14 trips to the finals are second in ACC history. Included is a championship appearance for the past seven years in a row, a league record. Duke has won eight times under Krzyzewski, who reached the finals in nearly sixty percent of his first two dozen seasons at Durham.
  • Dean Smith’s North Carolina teams appeared in 21 ACC Tournament finals in his 36 years, nearly two-thirds of the time he coached. They won 13 titles – in 1967, 1968, 1969 and 1972 when only the tournament winner could advance to the NCAAs, and in 1975, 1977, 1979, 1981, 1982, 1989, 1991, 1994, and 1997, his final season. The Heels also won in 1957 under Frank McGuire and in 1998 for Bill Guthridge.
  • Four different N.C. State coaches have won an ACC title, more than any other school: Everett Case (1954, 1955, 1956 and 1959), Press Maravich (1965), Norm Sloan (1970, 1973 and 1974), and Jim Valvano (1983 and 1987). Of six head coaches since the league was founded, only Les Robinson failed to take the Wolfpack to an ACC Tournament championship game.
  • Duke and Maryland had three different coaches win an ACC Tournament. The Blue Devils did it behind Vic Bubas, Bill Foster, and Krzyzewski, while the Terrapins won under Bud Millikan, Lefty Driesell, and Williams.
  • N.C. State’s Herb Sendek took teams to the final in three of his first seven seasons. Only he, Duke’s Bubas (1960), UNC’s Guthridge (1998), and N.C. State’s Maravich (1965) advanced to the title game in their first year at an ACC school. All won in that first try except Sendek, who lost to North Carolina in 1997.