clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chris Paul; Rookie Of The Year

Congratulations to the remarkable Chris Paul, who
won the ACC Rookie Of The Year Award
on Monday. He won over Luol Deng
by 53 votes to 40. As we said earlier, you couldn't go wrong with either choice.
We would like to point out something kind of remarkable, though.

We heard Dave Glenn say this on the radio the other day, and while we haven't
had time to verify it, it amazed us: Chris Duhon is the only Duke player under
Coach K to win Rookie Of The Year in the ACC. That means that Deng joins a long
list of guys who missed:

  • JJ Redick
  • Jason Williams
  • Mike Dunleavy
  • Carlos Boozer
  • Corey Maggette
  • Elton Brand
  • Shane Battier
  • Chris Carrawell
  • Bobby Hurley
  • Grant Hill
  • Christian Laettner
  • Danny Ferry
  • Tommy Amaker
  • Mark Alarie
  • Johnny Dawkins

Pretty amazing!