clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Maggette/Piggy Update

Here's an update on the Corey Maggette/Myron Piggie imbroglio, which has not yet been ruled on by the NCAA. Corey had some comments while he was in town, but barely, mostly limiting himself to saying he hadn't been penalized. How can he? What he did was a violation of the rules of a private association - the NCAA. He's no longer affiliated with the NCAA in any way, so he can't be penalized.

It's still hard to understand how Duke can be penalized for a transaction between Maggette and Piggy, particularly when Maggette fraudulently signed a document saying that he was in compliance with NCAA standards (all players have to sign this).